Skip to main content

Background Image for Header:

WV Driver’s License & ID Cards

New residents are required to apply for a West Virginia driver’s license. Foreign driver’s licenses are only valid for 30 days after you take up residence, and international licenses are valid for 90 days. To get a license you must:

  • Apply for a driving permit ($5 fee required)
  • Present your social security card, passport, visa, I-94 and your original birth certificate or a certified copy translated into English, or a tax identification number ( if you do not have a social security number) to the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles in Sabraton any Monday through Friday 8:30am to 4pm.
  • Take a vision exam.
  • Take a written test. You will receive a booklet to assist you in becoming acquainted with the laws. Both the written and driving tests are given Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 4:30pm.
  • Take an actual driving test. You must be accompanied by a person over the age of 21 with a valid US issued driver’s license.
  • Be prepared to pay anywhere from $5.50 to $18.00 for a driver’s license. The cost is dependent on your year of birth. WV licenses can be good for up to 5 years.

NOTE: If you do not have a social security card and do not plan to work, you may get a letter from the Social Security Administration that says you are denied a SS number. You may use that instead of a SS card to apply for a driver’s license. You will need to take your WVU student ID and your passport to the SS office to receive this letter. You may be required to present additional documentation when applying for a driver’s license at the WV Department of Motor Vehicles. More information is available at the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles.